Secrets

I’ve never worried much about privacy.  I try to live honestly, and be a good person, so what is there to hide?  If you meet me tomorrow, I will not be a person different from the person you know from my writing.

My secrets, which are few, are not something I casually write about, nor talk to others about.  They are not recorded in a journal or diary.  My secrets are not on-line.  Anything I want to keep secret I keep on my heart.  If you are one who knows one of my secrets, I can only hope I have chosen well, although I am not sure that has always been the case.

I have secrets from my family, just because not everything is their business, and I am pretty sure they would not agree with my choices.  I don’t want to be in the position of having to be dishonest by keeping the secrets of others.  I have no secrets from my husband.

However, if I think there is a reason to share a secret, I will do so without hesitation.  If you are struggling with something I have passed through, I will share every last detail in an effort to help you through.

It now occurs to me, that the things we keep secret are the mistakes that bring us shame.   These secrets show us we are only people, like other people, no better nor worse.  These secrets help us develop compassion, and forgiveness for others.

We all make mistakes.  We all have things we are not proud of.  Isn’t this enough of a reason to be kind to each other?

 

13 thoughts on “Secrets

Add yours

  1. You brought up a really good point there and I think you are right. The secrets we keep are about things we are ashamed of. It’s our dark side we keep hidden. I understand if some secrets are almost impossible to be shared and it’s up to the person if they want to ever share it or not even in regards to people going through the same they did. I guess it all depends on the weight your secret has on your soul.
    I came over from Danny’s Meet and Greet. Nice to meet you and I loved your post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Why not forget. I can’t fix them. They are in the past. Maybe some will force their way into the present again one. I don’t know.

        Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Kayembe Konnection

Living and loving life as a mom

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

ELENA PETERS | MIDLIFE BLOGGER

HELPING MIDLIFE BLOGGERS GO FROM HOBBY TO BUSINESS

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS, PHOTOS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Nomad

Find your own happiness & stay there

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2012–2024 by Mark Aldrich

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

The Boringbug

A paperback in the world of Kindle

Hot White Snow

The Personal Side of the Writing Life

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Lets Its Hair Down