Mysterious Disappearances

Things move in my house.  The matches were gone for days.  Pens disappear. I am constantly looking for my rings.  My meat defrosting in the sink disappears.  Muffins bagged on the counter disappear.  Glasses disappear, or at least get tipped over.  Paper isn’t safe.  Tubes, bottles, bottle caps, and hair accessories of all kinds disappear.

img_0827
Couldn’t be me Mom, I’m sleeping!

It is as if these things fall into an alternate dimension.  Maybe they fall through a hole in the space-time continuum.  It is a dilemma.  I quiz every living being in the household.  Blue, our gray cat, claims he was outside.  Penny, our little old lady, says she’s been tied up, and what’s with that?  Penny claims it has been days since she’s made any kind of mess at all.  Brutus, the Boston Terror, says he was closed into his crate for the night.  That leaves only one possibility.

“Couldn’t be me Mom, I’m sleeping,” says Shadow.

Even if I’d been watching, I wouldn’t see Shadow do anything wrong.  For one, she is my adorable, affectionate kitty who I claim as a service animal, because she is the one who just makes me so happy when I am sad, keeps me company when I am lonely, and makes me smile even if I get angry.

Of course, even watching her, Shadow is sometimes very difficult to see.  Shadow blends into the shadows, and looks like a hole in the fabric of space-time herself.  Photographic evidence is inconclusive.   Shadow’s dark color absorbs all surrounding light, and her features can be difficult to make out.

For now, I guess I’ll give Shadow the benefit of the doubt.  There is one person I haven’t questioned, and that is Hubby.  Why Hubby would want to put things under the stove and refrigerator, behind the sofa, under the end tables, and give the animals our steaks and muffins from the counter, and knock over all the glasses or onto the floor is a little beyond my comprehension.

What could Hubby be doing with my hair accessories?  It is a mystery.

16 thoughts on “Mysterious Disappearances

Add yours

      1. I love the name, Shadow, delightful! Porsche is 14 now and we’ve moved into a house. He was raised in an apt. and jumped 7 feet to the ground when he wanted out. He’s become so vibrant and even more playful and scouts all night now and sleeps part of the day, chomping at the bit to get back outside. He’s a new verison of himself and so heartwarming to see.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Traveller

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

An ongoing collection of blogs and updates to flex your reading muscles.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

