Good in a Crisis

img_0673
Original painting by Carol Mazurek

Something I call panic occurs every time I see a spider, a bug gets on me, something terrifying awakes me from a dream.  When I am overcome, because I can’t see around me, I feel enclosed with no immediately visible way of escape, trapped, claustrophobia, an irrational fear that surfaces no matter what I tell myself.  Panic!

Walking along a moonlit street with branches swaying in the wind, I jump at every imagined sound.  I look for pursuers, hurry my steps, arm myself with the keys in my fist.  My heart pounds.  Panic!  I rush to my door, turn on the light, and only then do I feel safe.

I can approach a stage for a few words to an audience and become silenced  with panic, forgetting every word I had practiced.  Thank goodness the nightmares of having no notes and being naked has never, once happened.

But what about when something really serious happens?

My daughter broke her arm, her wrist at an unnatural angle, a bone sticking through the skin.  Did I run around screaming, distraught, out of control, in panic?  No.  I made sure to avert my daughters eyes, tossed a clean towel over the entire mess, called for ice, and headed for the hospital.  Calm.  Cucumber cool.

When a brake line came loose and my brakes went out, while going down hill, did I panic?  No.  I identified a way to slow the car.  I down shifted, braking with the engine.  The roads were paved concrete, but I turned to go up a hill.  I needed a place to coast to a stop and found an empty parking lot.  It was only when the car was stopped, and I was safe that I started shaking.  I had been on my way to an assignment, and called my editor saying I couldn’t attend the meeting.  I called my husband (pre-cell phone days) from a pay phone, and he came to pick me up and sent a truck to get the car.

The feeling of panic doesn’t seem to depend upon the degree of actual danger.  No, it isn’t actual danger that causes the feeling of panic.  Taking action when faced with a true crisis, is called being good in a crisis.  Some people lose their heads in a crisis.

So why do I think I am good in a crisis?   I imagine horrible things that could happen in advance, and think of solutions.  Even if a current crisis doesn’t match something I’ve thought of, I have at least had practice finding solutions.

8 thoughts on “Good in a Crisis

Add yours

  1. I can relate to not panicking when in the car. The times when I’ve been in situations like that I’ve never panicked, but mostly because I was too busy waking up when those sort of things went wrong :),

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

Where Blogging Comes Alive!

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

sukriti lakhtakia

poetry on better days

