They Keep Coming

Picture
Olivia de Havilland in Swarm, 1978

They wing their way through the air.  Hundreds upon hundreds without stop.  Birds, bees, grasshoppers all swarm, and a swarm is never a good thing.  A swarm drains available resources.

I love my computer and all it allows me to do.  I can get an instant answer to just about any question.  Feeling down and want an answer to life, the universe and everything?  The computer will quickly give you the answer:  42.

Email is a wonderful feature of the computer.  Email allows family and friends to contact me with news from around the globe nearly instantaneously.  I would love it if I logged on to email to greetings from family and friends, with pictures attached, but that doesn’t really happen in our Facebook world.

What I get are a swarm of emails.  On a normal day, a few hundred emails come my way.  I feel stress!   If I miss a few days, because I’m sick, visiting the grandchildren, or communing with nature off the worldwide web, the emails turn into thousands.

Once, while doing research, I clicked on Railroad Jobs (no, train engineer was not listed). I have received listings of ticket sales and loading jobs, which I hopefully have not blocked.  Hot Brazilians pop up regularly, and I am told there are hundreds of these types of sites, and I just need to keep blocking them.  Every store, every website that I have ever shown any interest in also sends me emails, and I unsubscribe only to get a new round the next time I actually complete some business with them.  There are also the emails from my husband’s recent job search.  (I have begged him to unsubscribe, but there is apparently a delay.

I’ve finally managed to turn off my Facebook notifications that had my phone whistling at me repeatedly during the day.  The phone is another place I have to deal with email, as is my tablet.  After spending hours just getting rid of advertisements on all my devices, I’m not even sure I want to read anything.

Which brings me to my favorite bloggers.  I have found that using the reader, liking pictures and visiting blogs when I want to comment is much more expedient, and I’m even able to catch up where I’ve fallen behind with my favorites.

A recent tip was to read only five other blogs a day.  Okay bloggers,  what do we think of this idea. Is that five currently followed blogs, new blogs, or split between the two?   How do those of you with followers in the thousands deal with your comments and those you follow?

Please give me some help here.  I have been feeling overwhelmed.

15 thoughts on “They Keep Coming

Add yours

  1. I completely understand where you are coming from. Over the last few months, I have been working harder, traveling more on weekends and extremely tired. My emails were out of control because I didn’t have time to skim through them, let alone read them. (Over 30,000 emails) YIKES! Not to mention, unread comments and likes on my blog. I tried sifting through the major emails and weeding out the not so major. That just didn’t get it because the emails just kept coming!

    What I eventually decided to do was just start fresh. I deleted all of them. I then went into my subscriptions and unsubscribe from the blogs that I no longer really followed due to different reasons but mostly because my interests have changed.

    I also went from 895 Facebook friends to 441. I went through all of them, and friends I continue to follow are the ones who are my strong source of support.. good friends and family. All those acquaintances and friends of friends are gone.
    I had no choice but to de-clutter. Now, I am able to manage all the emails and notifications without the guilt and headache. 😜

    I know there are many blogs I follow that does not give me the same support I give them and that’s ok. I’m sure I’m in there somewhere in their massive emails, as well! LOL

    Like

  2. This is a tough problem. I’ve practically quit Facebook. It’s too volatile for me. My blog on the other hand is much more dependable…except for the increasing numbers. BUT one trend I’ve noticed over the past year is that a sizable number of bloggers I follow…simply disappear. I read most of my true blue blogger friends, such as yourself, but on occasion I miss a few blogs…I figure that’s all right. We’re all out there keeping in touch the best way we can. I have un-followed one blogger since I’ve started…and that was because the person became politically vicious. If I want that I can truck over to Facebook! I’ll read on the average of five to ten blogs a day…but on weekends I might read zero. But then on Monday I’ll try to back track a bit…what I get to I get to, and just move on. What I love about the blog is the forgiving nature of my blogger friends. If I don’t get to your blog post…you. don’t hold a grudge and vice-versa. 🙂

    Like

  3. I would say that as far as reading a full blog post, I only have time to read about 5 a day. I try to get to most people who follow me about once a week. Fortunately or unfortunately, I’m not overwhelmed with comments on my blog yet, so I’ll worry about that if/when it becomes a problem. I will always however, comment to a blogger who knows that the meaning of life, the universe, and everything is 42. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So perhaps this piece is really a “humble brag?” I’ve started looking for topics of interest. There are certain blogs I have to read everyday. Their writing, or humor, just have me hooked. This whole earth experiment is getting crazy.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Whatever works for you. I read blogs randomly. Sometimes I read many. Sometimes I read none.
    I unsubscribe to email subscriptions and assign others to trash and spam.

    Like

  5. The good thing is that most bloggers are fast readers or at least good skimmers! I do follow quite a few blogs, but honestly, only read those that are set up as an e-mail notification. Since I don’t blog every day, I can delete many of those who tend to post daily. I figure if I can read daily posters 1-2 times a week, I’m doing mu share. While I read and visit, even if I don’t leave a comment, I at least tweet their post. Regardless, blogging is overwhelming in that sense. Good luck and hope you find something that works for you, April!

    Like

    1. I have been working on my speed reading, but waiting for all that buffering drives me nuts. I often wish I could divide my blogs out to one dedicated device. Just seeing 100’s of emails give me stress. But, I do like getting likes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Traveller

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

An ongoing collection of blogs and updates to flex your reading muscles.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

