Why I Hate my Tablet

Full disclosure:  I am not a great speller.  I was a great speller through grade school.  I received spelling awards each year from first through sixth grade.  Then something happened.  I don’t know what.  My Dad always told me that if spelling ever became important to me, I would figure out how to do spell.

The more I write and publish, the more important good spelling is to me.  My Hubby is an excellent editor, but I do not like to depend upon him.  Spellcheck is a lifesaver, but it won’t catch everything.  I do find self editing very challenging.  After writing several drafts, and reading my own work over and over again, I tend to read what I meant, rather than what is actually there.

I do so miss the days when I had an editor to make sure nothing slips by.  Truth be told, no-one is perfect, not even the excellent editors of the Intelligencer Journal for whom I served as a correspondent for several years covering the Lancaster, Pennsylvania area.

Add my less than stellar typing skills, and you have a perfect storm for mistakes on words I clearly must know how to spell.  Now add my tablet, or telephone, with the tiny little keyboard, and being technology-challenged have yet to figure out how to turn off auto correct.  I try very hard to have “clean copy” for my posts, but errors in my comments have proven comically frustrating.   Spell check is no help there.

What kind of professional am I?  Wait a minute!  I don’t get paid for any of this.

I will admit, if spell check doesn’t find any errors, I feel cautiously optimistic.  If Hubby doesn’t mention any mistakes, I do rise and take a bow, and imagine the ovation from my many readers around the world.

15 thoughts on “Why I Hate my Tablet

Add yours

  1. My daughter has dismayed us all by not being a great speller in a family of grammar snobs. If she is taking a spelling test, she will rise to the occasion by memorizing the words, but she still doesn’t seem to have a talent for sounding them out. Due to our incessant nagging of her to perfect her spelling, she’s getting a bit better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I once had an argument with a teacher who couldn’t understand why her students couldn’t spell, while her regional accent made o into a and skipped over other letters altogether. She thought I was the grammar snob!

      Like

  2. I use a free “office” program for all my typing on this computer and it’s almost like there is no such thing as a spell check. The words it picks up as errors are unbelievably stupid for instance does anyone know why you can have a movie but not have multiple movies?, (actually my web browser just picked up movies as a typo, looks like it’s only in Australia we aren’t allowed to have more than one, must be because of our slow internet connections.)

    The Microsoft Office Grammar checker is also woefully stupid most of the time, especially when it picks up a grammatical error but can’t tell you why it’s an error.

    I’m a terrible first draft speller, but when I’m on a roll I also don’t stop for typos which does make it hard reading back sometimes especially in those occasions where the typo still makes the sentence readable but changes the context and you spend 10 mins wondering what the hell you were writing about.

    But I don’t feel too bad when I see some of the books that have been professionally edited and made the sales list. Some e-books are woefully bad, some self published books are worse but even the biggest of publishing houses continue to release books with terrible editing.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m only using free ones because the computer came with it and I’m too cheap to renew my Microsoft license, says a lot about a person who is a authorised reseller and support agent for MS 🙂

        Editing for the most part is about personal preference, what I think works may not be what you think works and it annoys me when publishers make out like editing is everything. But it annoys me more when they make out like that and have poorly edited stories. Stories where minor characters change name mid story, or their back story changes. It’s stuff editors should pick up if they are good at their skill but they often don’t.

        Self edited books are another form of crazy, the one thing no author should EVER do is self edit as a final solution.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Life of an El Paso Woman

EL PASO, TEXAS PEOPLE & PLACES, MUSIC, MOVIES, LIFE, HISPANIC CULTURE, WOMEN'S ISSUES, ETC.

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

Journal on the soul of the world • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

