A Fan of the 2016 World Series

I don’t follow teams, but my hometown team was playing in the World Series.  I like to watch a championship game and see athletes at their best.  But baseball is the game I know and love best.

I didn’t have anybody to toss a ball with as a child.  Dad was in school or working, and Mom was busy with the babies.  In neighborhood games, I was chosen last, and our field was the road between the houses.  There were Little League fields behind the school, and I spent many summer hours watching the games.  As a Clevelander, I was lucky enough to go to at least one pro game a year.

Now, my home team, the Cleveland Indians, played in this years world series.  I was traveling and off the grid for much of the World Series.  I did have my car radio and searched the dial for World Series coverage, but found myself disappointed.  At a sports bar in Ord, Nebraska for a Halloween party and Nebraska football, I was trilled to hear another patron shout out the score when the Indians were ahead.  Every game, we checked the score every half hour, no matter what we were doing.

But I was at home an hour after the start of game six, and even after a long day of driving, I stayed up and watched the exciting game.  The Cubs beat the Indians 9 to 3 bringing the world series to a 3-3 tie.  My hometown team had one more chance to win.

There was a moment in the seventh game that I was beginning to believe in curses.  The cursed Cubs hadn’t won a championship since 1908.  The Cubs started game seven with a home run, and stayed ahead, until the eighth inning started with a 6-3 score, but a double and a two-run home run tied the game through the ninth inning.  And then there was rain, and we all waited.

Those who don’t understand the game of baseball think of it as a long boring game.  One team spreads themselves out across the field, and the other team makes attempt after attempt to hit a small white ball with a bat, little more than a glorified stick!  You spend your time waiting for something to happen.  The only people who appear to actually play, is the pitcher, catcher, and batter, most of the time.

The skill, judgement, technique, and power of the game pays off in spurts of glory.  The the Tribe was back in the game.

 

This was the first game in which I opened my tablet and saw my Cleveland friends all on line commenting on the game.  We commented on each other’s time  lines, some were switching back and forth between the game and the Country Music Awards, but game seven had us riveted and connected.

(It occurred to me after the game, that I could have used Twitter.   Before I went on vacation I opened an account @AprilESutton1, but I didn’t even think about Twitter, and my three followers. I haven’t really figured out how Twitter works.)

The tenth inning, and in the end, my team lost, 8 to 7.  The Cubs, after 108 years without a championship win.  The Chicago Cubs won the 2016 World Series.  Sure, we wanted to win.  But we had a great game.  I am sincere when I say, “Congratulations!  Well played!”

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Fan of the 2016 World Series

Add yours

  1. How can a World Series only include one country? 😛

    I suppose it’s still better than our National game of Ariel Ping Pong where guys hug each other and play with someone else’s balls, which really are odd shaped and bright red.

    I’d rather the CMA’s though. I haven’t caught up with all the happenings from that yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, April! The World Series was nailbiting this year, though I’m sorry about your Indians, but ecstatic about the Cubs winning! Both teams seem to be young and up-and-coming and will be in the running for years to come! Out West, the closest team to us is the San Francisco Giants who have been prolific winners in the last 5 years! Congrats to both Cleveland and Chicago for a great series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Meghan Tregellis, Author

"We write to taste life twice." ~ Anais Nin

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

Journal on the soul of the world • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

The thin line between your and you're

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

