My Original Idea

Image result for original battlestar galactica cast

When I entered junior high, I discovered Greek Mythology.   When I was 13 I  came up with an original idea.  What if mythology was based upon real people.  What if all the Greek heros and gods were people who came as settlers to our world,maybe because of war on their own world.

Who knew that at 13 years old, I was an ancient alien theorist.  (The idea behind a History Channel  show.)

In 1978 Battlestar Galactica came to television.   When I thought of the idea, I was a child, and when the television show came out I was a young mother following another path.  I was not the writer, producer, nor director.  This was only one of a long line of my ideas that came into being thanks to the efforts of others.

Original ideas float through the air around us, and many of us may respond to these ideas nearly simultaneously.   Having a good original idea doesn’t make it yours. Having an original idea is an invitation to get to work.  You can’t copyright, license,  nor sell an unformed idea.   You can take your idea and run with it.  You can craft the idea into your vision.

This doesn’t mean others won’t be working with the same original kernel of idea.  There may be several people working with the same basic idea.  Each creation will be as different as each individual.

As proof, I offer our daily prompt.  We all start with the same word, but there are no two postings alike.

14 thoughts on “My Original Idea

Add yours

  1. I so agree with you. This happens a lot in my family with both my son and daughter. We’de have been billionaires many times over had we been able to bring our ideas to fruition, seriously. It’s astounding when I look at what has happened with those original ideas we had way back when.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. However alike and original are two different things. 🙂

        Apparently you can be more popular for being alike than you can be for being original. Although it is more satisfying being original than it is being liked.

        Like

  2. You are absolutely right. You cannot copyright an unformed, un-executed idea. I had one regarding multi-storied parking lots and years later went to a hospital where my idea was in place. Mmmm. How original was my idea. Perhaps, it just take someone with the drive to make that thought reality.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Life of an El Paso Woman

EL PASO, TEXAS PEOPLE & PLACES, MUSIC, MOVIES, LIFE, HISPANIC CULTURE, WOMEN'S ISSUES, ETC.

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

Journal on the soul of the world • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

