Seek Silence

img_0510

Just yesterday I heard that our brains need silence for at least two hours a day.  Apparently, silence enhances memory, stimulates brain growth, relieves stress, helps us sleep, and makes us more sensitive to things around us.

Right now I am in a quiet place.  The only sounds are the air conditioner running, a fan, and the gentle click of my keyboard.  Full disclosure, I rarely seek out silence.    I turn the TV on early in the morning, and often have it on all day.  In the car I listen to the radio.   When I walk my dogs, I am constantly talking, to urge them along, to praise their good manners, to give a little reprimand.

No, silence isn’t something I seek often.  I know all the noise keeps me from hearing what I think, and keeps me from fully feeling my emotions.   Far too often, the distraction of noise is what I want, even need.  The noisy distraction keeps me from feeling alone and vulnerable.  Noisy distraction keeps me from noticing the empty places in my life.

Yet sometimes, I do seek the silence.  The silence I seek isn’t just an absence of sound, but the absence of any distraction. I unplug from the TV, phone and other devices.  I can read in silence, but that fills my mind.  No, the silence I seek makes no demands upon my attention, and leaves my mind free to explore its own thoughts.

This is the silence that helps me puzzle out my problems, and find solutions.  The quiet that brings thoughts of those I love.  The silence that reveals my hopes and dreams.  The silence that brings peace, where my own thoughts are revealed and creativity is born.

A thought occurs to me.  What if I awake in the middle of the night to just have a little silence to think, find peace and creativity?

May you also find rest, peace, and creativity in silence.

11 thoughts on “Seek Silence

Add yours

  1. We’re pretty quiet around here and for one basic reason. We have NO TV. The decision wasn’t mine. Before we married I lived in Mississippi. An electrical system failure at my house burned out my dish network and my 52″ TV screen and receiver. So, I did without. Then I met Sadako. During our dating, etc. I did without TV and when we married a year later, I found out she had no Television either. She had cancelled her Dish Network and that was that. Since I hadn’t watched TV in a year I didn’t miss it. So we happily agreed: no television.

    It’s really very nice. We don’t depressed watching the news. Anything we need to find out about…we can get on the computer. We do have two large screens for movies. I still enjoy watching movies.

    But the big difference is the quiet. In the evenings we often find ourselves reading. In a very quiet room. It’s wonderful.

    What makes quietness so wonderful is the ability to sit outside in the morning and hear the natural sounds of life, birds, wind, trees. I think that helps me a great deal. I also get the “silent” quietness when I go inside and work, no music, no anything. The quietness brings out the best thoughts of my mind, and time disappears.

    Thanks for sharing such a great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish my brain seeked two hours silence occasionally. My wife tells me I over think things, I like to think it’s because I’m too passionate about things but it’s more likely that I over think things to stop my brain thinking the stupid things that has so far spawned to serial stories 🙂

    Don’t start waking up in the middle of the night to find silence, firstly it doesn’t exist, but secondly you could end up like me 🙂

    Like

  3. Another time we enjoy the quietness of the house is in the evening once we do turn off the TV, we actually sit there and say to ourselves – Ah, peace and quiet. Now if we could only do that earlier in the evening and find something else to occupy our time than the boob tube. Nah, don’t think that is going to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

