A Terrible Night, a Good Day

IMG_0281
Ceiling of the Soldier and Sailor Memorial, Public Square, Cleveland Ohio

I couldn’t really see the ceiling while I was trying to fall asleep, just a movement from the circling fan.  I changed pillows, shifted position, tossed off the covers, turned down the temperature, petted my cat, went to the bathroom, got some water, and in fact did everything except fall asleep.  Finally, I did fall asleep, for about two hours.

Penny, our old lady, started barking and crying, but I was too late.  She couldn’t wait, and I had to clean up the floor.  I let Penny out, just in case she wasn’t quite finished, let her in and got her settled.  I was resting comfortably, when Penny started making some strange breathing sounds.  Then the lightning flashed, and thunder roared through the heavens a fraction of a second later.

I went to the routine again, but sleep was still elusive.  Finally I got up, and did a nice quiet, computer free job.  I filed all the papers on my desk.  It no longer seemed like any reasonable amount of sleep would be possible.  So rather than trying to sleep for an hour, I started my day.

It has been a very good day.  My Creative Cluster was finally able to agree on meeting at 1:30 pm today (Friday).  After taking care of the dogs and our morning routine, I went to the Y for my water aerobics class.  Then it was out to the mall, not downtown Huntington, where we were to meet for a late lunch.  Having plenty of extra time, I did some shopping and had my nails done a nice bright pink.

After an absence of about two years, we were able to have a nice long talk in a quiet corner.  We already set up our next meeting, and agreed to try to keep each other informed of fun activities we participate in, with the hope of getting a little company.  This is a trick my daughter is particularly good at.  When she is going for a run or wanting to hang out, she sends out the word and never wants for company.

Now it is evening, and I have taken no naps, have exercised, visited, and pampered myself. Doing this post, while maybe not my best, is the last thing on my to-do list.  Now, just like last night, I find myself obsessed with one thing:  Sleep!  I will try to stay up another hour, and then give in to my obsession.  Sweet dreams, everyone.

8 thoughts on “A Terrible Night, a Good Day

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

Where Blogging Comes Alive!

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

sukriti lakhtakia

poetry on better days

