Mr. Irrepressible

AL

Hubby is a smart, clever, funny man.  When we met, we were high school kids, and I was full of angst, and he was just full of it.  He pulled me out of myself, and made me laugh. Now we have been married 45 years.

Sometimes I will say something and he has an entire conversation entirely by himself with no feedback from me.  Trivia, jokes, sarcasm, and random comments in a flow of free association spill forth in a never-ending stream.  Sometimes it’s purely funny.  Other times, while still funny, there is a real bite to his comments.  When Hubby’s comments are biting, I stop him and remind him that what he is saying is nothing I’ve had any part in, and not only are these not my words, but I don’t feel that way at all.

It is funny, challenging and exasperating.  For me it is particularly entertaining, challenging and exasperating when we get on the subject of grammar and word choice.  He was a tech writer and editor.  I, a reporter and writer.  He has been trained to leave my sentence fragments and word choices alone.  I have encouraged him to write blogs, so we could have a his and her perspective, but so far he has resisted my urging.

I have seen a funny comment break the ice in awkward situations.  I have seen a humorous comment transform a conversation from tense to easy.  I have seen him make an insightful funny comment in a serious conversation than transformed the thinking of others.

The unstoppable humor is well-meant.  Hubby might humorously say something about you being fat, or make a comment on your ugliness, but he would never say such a thing if he actually thought you were either fat or ugly.  It would just be a joke.  Our daughter will put her father on speaking probation.  Number one son finds nothing funny about any of it, calling it abusive.  Next son finds it annoying, but can tolerate it, and if he isn’t busy with something else, may even enjoys his Dad’s humor.

Recently, I’ve read some articles about sarcasm and humor that support number one son’s opinion.  Even though many of us think sarcasm and deprecating humor funny, it is biting and can be considered abusive or bullying.  I am not sure I would go that far.  I would agree sarcasm is clearly a very powerful rhetorical device, so use it with care.                                                                                                                    #

 

10 thoughts on “Mr. Irrepressible

Add yours

      1. Your right. There are a lot of sensitive peeps. Hey I’m my earluest parts of my life journey, I was quite the sensitive creature. My sarcastic big bro brutalized me 😛 Now we can sarcastic each other forever.

        Like

  1. Congratulations on 45 years of marriage. That is absolutely beautiful. A rarity these days. You both are very blessed. Have your hubby give you a hug from me. Thanx for sharing him and your years.
    I like your ‘his/her’ blog idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

