The American Experiment

american_flag_194592_edited

I hope everyone had a happy July Fourth.  I was in Maryland, staying close to D.C. for Independence Day at a hotel with an international clientele.  The only hint of violence were the reports of ISIS attacks reported on CNN.

I have been following the primary and election  process very careful.   I have very strong feelings about certain issues and find the ugly rhetoric  employed by some of those running as harmful, creating intolerance, and fostering hate.  I hear people say such rhetoric is only emotional talk, and policy would be much more informed and diplomatically implemented.  I would like to be assured, before we vote for our president, that the person elected is a serious and responsible candidate.  The primary offered choices from each party that meet my criteria.  Hopefully the chosen candidates will rise to the challenge.

I have been reluctant to write  in-depth about politics in an effort to retain a degree of neutrality, but politics dominates my thoughts.   Besides, my opinion is only my opinion.  The only value of my opinion is the value you, the reader, give it.  I am not a political reporter, nor political analyst.  Just a person trying to become informed and vote for the person who I  believe will do something good for the  American people.  My forceful defense of my stance on issues has provoked forceful assertions of the right to hold a contrary opinion.  If you don’t want to hear a contrary opinion,  then just keep quiet, and hold your opinion.

I have been upset at times, until I ran across an old journal entry written during another presidential election cycle.  The  feelings and concerns I wrote of then, are the very same feelings and concerns I have now.  Some how the American Experiment keeps on going.

The best or worst president has only a limited amount of power.  Congress can howl presidential overreach, and can refuse to approve appointments, but what the president is allowed to do is defined, in broad strokes.  In fact the duties of the legislative branch of government and the judicial branch of government are also defined in broad strokes.  These broad strokes create a lot of controversy over which branch has the power to do specific things.  Does the Judicial legislation the result of Supreme Court decisions?  Is the congressional obstruction the result of legislative control over the budget?

The struggle makes for an interesting show, and helps to prevent any real damage from being done.  If a president does anything really bad there is the option of impeachment. Impeachment is rare, only happening twice in the history of our United States.

So enjoy the freedom to vocally disagree with your candidates, and vote bravely.  You will get to do it all again in another four years.

 

10 thoughts on “The American Experiment

Add yours

  1. I agree. Strongly dislike hate speech. Made me very happy when the Liberal party was voted in power in Canada. It is not that Trudeau will necessarily be a better prime minister than Harper but that he better reflected what many regarded to be Canadian values and did not encourage others to practice hate speech. My PC friends and I agree to differ, but none of us get nasty and therefore, not upset.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Life of an El Paso Woman

EL PASO, TEXAS PEOPLE & PLACES, MUSIC, MOVIES, LIFE, HISPANIC CULTURE, WOMEN'S ISSUES, ETC.

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

Journal on the soul of the world • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

