Showin’ My Ass

I’ve been accused of “showin’ my ass” a couple of times since moving to this area.  The first time had nothing to do with politics, and the most recent time I was “showin’ my ass” was during a political discussion.  I am still trying to understand what this expression actually means.

The first time was when I requested insurance information from a neighbor who hit my car.  When she didn’t want to give me her insurance information, I suggested she should pay me the $500 needed for the repairs.  “Your showin’ you’re ass now,” she yelled.  She accused me of trying to shake down an old woman for money, shoved me and screamed at me for several minutes, bringing the neighbors out from their homes.  You might be happy to know that your insurance company can track down the insurance on another vehicle with the licence number and make of the car.

This latest time I was “showin’ my ass” was rooted in politics.  It is only a coincidence that the donkey is a political symbol.  (For the origins of these symbols read this.) After hearing how my lunch companions felt about illegal immigrants, I had to speak out, and was encouraged to do so.  The conversation did not go as I  had anticipated.  Instead of my calmly standing up for people seeking asylum, I was bombarded by an argument for the their right of free speech and their right to their opinion.   To which I suggested that the workplace was not the proper forum for the expression of these rights and opinions.  An unpleasant conversation for all.

Image result for political symbolsI would now like to express my view.

It is perfectly normal for families of immigrants to combine their resources and live together, depending on those family members who can get jobs to support the family.  If no jobs are available, they will use what knowledge they have to earn money any way they can.  Through necessity immigrants often become small business owners.  This is the American dream.  To criticize immigrants for this behavior is wrong.  It does not speak to their status as legal or illegal.

Currently,  the United States has several groups of people seeking our American Dream.  From south of our border, or from across the world, people who are displaced by violence are seeking refuge in our country, European countries, and other peaceful countries.  The Universal Declaration of Human Rights adopted by the United Nations in 1948 states it is a right of people to seek seek asylum from persecution and genocide.  The refugee’s from Syria are seeking asylum.  Most of them are women and children.

Those fleeing for their lives, displaced by war and violence in their countries, are unlikely to have birth certificates, shot records, educational report cards, and other common forms of documentation.  There are procedures in place that offer an opportunity for legal immigration to these people.  It is a long, and complicated procedure, which takes time, while people are surviving under great need and hardship, after taking extraordinary risks to escape to safety.

The idea of building walls, closing boarders, and deporting all Muslims or Hispanics is not just bigotry of the worst sort, but is totally unconstitutional and un-Americana.  Having  specific groups of people registered, watched, or interned as if they were all enemy combatants is not without precedent, but has been branded racist, bigoted, shameful, and wrong.  The idea calls up images of concentration camps.

I have been told I should not tell my (former) lunch partners about my beliefs, but I should convey them to the Republican candidate.  I believe I have already done so with my primary vote, and will also do so in the general election, but I fear that isn’t quite enough.  With only six degrees of separation, perhaps this blog will find its way to Donald Trump and his supporters.

If you don’t want refugees coming to the United States, but are concerned about the welfare of refugee children, you could make a donation to the Save the Children Fund.

A friend told me the response to “Your showin’ yer ass,” is “Well why shouldn’t I show my ass?  It is a beautiful ass, unlike your ugly old ass!”

So there!   (I believe the workplace policy of no political discussions in the work place is now being enforced.)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Showin’ My Ass

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Traveller

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

An ongoing collection of blogs and updates to flex your reading muscles.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

