The Computer Died

The title says it all.  My trusty computer, with all my picture files, and customizations, died.  I could have fixed it, but I have this newer computer with up to date software, so I decided to bite the bullet and go with the new system.   I will figure it out.

While waiting for the diagnosis of my old friend, Shadow and I have been busy.  I dug a bunch of old t-shirts of my stash and set to work cutting strips.   Every once in awhile it is just good to make something with your hands, and I needed a new rug at my kitchen sink, one that could be easily washed.  Reusing t-shirts is easy.  T-shirts do not unravel, and can be cut into long strips, for my project, or sliced and knotted  to create a new look for wearing.

Shadow was fascinated by the dangling strips of cloth.  As much as she tried to be a big cat, she is sucked into the entertainments of a kitten.

Mom, What are we doing?  The Hell.
Mom, What are we doing? The Hell.

Shadow sat on my lap while I worked.  If I left the project for even a moment, Shadow was checking it out.

I think I like crocheting, Mom.
I think I like crocheting, Mom.

The project was completed swiftly with a large needle, and is very comfortable underfoot, or under cat.   She has been very busy looking for the next project and has little time to sit around, so no picture of Shadow reclining on the rug.  Shadow prefers dangling strings or balls to bat around.   For your enjoyment here is a picture of the new rug.   It is amazing what you can do with a few old t-shirts.

Recycled T's

We are buying more than 80 billion new items of clothing a year, an increase of over 40 percent over 20 years ago, due to the rapid change of styles.  As a result Americans alone are dumping 11 million tons of textile waste into landfills.   Textiles are one of the most easily recycled items around, yet only a small percentage are recovered.

Pinterest is full of ideas to up-cycle clothing, from little girl dresses out of men’s shirts, to wonderfully creative t-shirt remakes.  But not everything can be remade.  Some items are just to worn, but that doesn’t mean they have no use.  Wiping and polishing cloths, insulation, and stuffing are a few of the ways recycled fabric is used.  If you are handy, you might make something from an old garment, or piece of fabric.  If you are not handy, look for ways to recycle in your area.

5 thoughts on “The Computer Died

Add yours

  1. This week we are making reusable shopping bags out of t-shirts for our local food bank. And I have a pair of jeans for you to make another big purse. The rug looks nice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Meghan Tregellis, Author

"We write to taste life twice." ~ Anais Nin

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

Journal on the soul of the world • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

The thin line between your and you're

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

