A Wonderful Time

I awoke this Wonderful Wednesday to a beautiful Indian Summer day.

A few days of temperatures that dipped into freezing has put an end to the growing season.  If you had seen my pitiful attempt at a vegetable garden you would understand my great relief, but we did grow some of the best tasting tomatoes that I ever tasted on our little patch of the world.  Friends who posted pictures of their produce on social media, and will spend the winter posting pictures of the great meals they create and reference their summer harvest, possibly with before and after pictures.   Thankfully I have no fears of going hungry this winter.  Prices may have increased some, but we are secure in the knowledge that nearby grocers will be stocked with fresh produce from around the country and even the world thanks in part to the inventor of the refrigerated truck by Fred Jones.  Thanks to Jones, fresh and frozen foods are shipped from one area of the county to another quickly and inexpensively.  I will try planting another vegetable garden in the spring, because home grown, fresh vegetables are the best.

I am also thankful for computers and Google, that made it possible to find the information I heard about of the man who revolutionized the transport industry by refrigerating trucks.  Something I heard about some years back, was only a few clicks away, instead of hours of research away in a library with no guarantee I would be able to find it.   Not only could I ask who invented the refrigeration truck, but Google supplied me with a picture, and background information.   The computer isn’t just an efficient writer’s tool.

I seek information on a variety of topics each day.  While watching television we ask Google the name of that character, and as a bonus learn everything she has appeared in.  While at dinner, many a question has been answered by picking up that computer we always carry with us (our cell phone), and asking Google for information on any kind of trivia.

We can learn just about anything, and pursue any topic as far as we like. My grandson is interested in playing Chess, so I have been studying strategy.  I look for a new hairstyle on the computer.  I’ve learned to organize my home, and upscale my decorating.  I am searching Pinterest for Halloween Costume ideas for an upcoming Halloween Party.

There is so much to know, and to little time.  For now, I will go out and enjoy the beautiful fall day.

2 thoughts on “A Wonderful Time

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

