Have a Plan

Americans are standing a little taller these days.

With the words “Let’s go,” three Americans tackled and hog-tied a man armed with an AK-47 and a box cutter on a high-speed train traveling from Amsterdam to Paris.  Army National Guardsman Alek Skarlatos, 22, US Airman Spencer Stone, 23, and Anthony Sadler, 23, grew-up together and took action together secure in the knowledge that each would do his part.  Stone was stabbed in the neck and had to have his thumb reattached.  I don’t know if these men ever actually talked about such a situation, but these men now called heroes worked as one to avert many injuries and death.

Hubby and I had a talk after September 11, 2001, when passengers caused the premature crash of United Airlines Flight 93 in Pennsylvania while trying to regain control of the flight  This plane is believed to have targeted either the White House or the Capital Building.  Hubby was flying frequently in those days, and we agreed that if action was needed to prevent a larger tragedy, he would do whatever he could, with my blessing.

If someone walks into a public place with an AK-47 and other weapons,don’t ask what his/her intentions are.  In a place where weapons of any kind are usually banned, only the criminals have guns.  Getting out the nearest exit and calling for help is my first choice of action.  If a quick exit isn’t possible, I will assume my cloak of invisibility and hide.  If I am close enough, I will throw something, swing something, and do anything I can think of to interrupt his/her plans.

I have had no military training, no martial arts training, and I am not even that fit, but I can swing a mean purse.  I can’t believe I don’t have back trouble from carrying all that stuff around.  My purse, traveling at enough speed, could rip a gun from a person’s hand, break an arm, knock someone for a loop.  Plus I have meant to pick up some wasp spray to carry around and keep by my bedside, because I heard wasp spray is an effective deterrent if you aim for the eyes, and has a good reach, which means I can keep my distance.

Can you imagine a gunman in a room full of people screaming, “Let’s Go!”  Can you imagine this gunman having to deal with multiple projectiles, and women using their purses and bags like bolas, while multiple people are aiming wasp spray at the gunman’s eyes?  Hubby doubted my plan till he picked up my purse.

I hope neither of us are ever in a position to put this plan into action, but if we are, I’ve got your back.

8 thoughts on “Have a Plan

Add yours

  1. I guess I am either naive or in denial but I never thought about what could occur to me if I am in such a situation…not that it’s a bad line of thought. I am one of the few women who carry only cell phone, keys and my wallet in my purse. Better start carrying around a roll of quarters!!

    Like

  2. I carry the smallest purse possible to avoid the weight, but as I’ve gotten older and involved with more things, more stuff has crept in. I’m sure you know the defensive key hold, but that only works up close, but if you have a shot you could take it. Do you think this is to dark?

    Like

    1. Pepper spray is good. How far away can you be to use that. Pepper spray also works with aggressive animals. I know some people who carry it with them in the woods, and riding bikes or walking through the neighborhood.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. we git it for first reason exactly for wild animals if iam out in the woods with our dog, but latley i thought it might be also not bad to have it with me just in case. I have to admit i dont know how far you have to be away but might be somewhere on the Internet.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

