Wonderful Wednesday

Listening to some people complain about everything, I thought I would write a post about some of the things that have brought joy into my life.  You will learn a little about me and my world, and I get to practice downloading, editing and inserting pictures into my posts.

Watchmakers Granddaughter
Watchmakers Granddaughter

My Grandfather was a watchmaker and this heart reminds me of the gears I saw in the watches he worked on.  This image also reminds me of his love for me, and brings up happy memories of balloons, which he always had in his pocket for me.  Grandpa drank Peppermint Schnapps, and would dip his finger into his drink and deposit a single drop onto my tongue.  Grandpa died when I was too young to understand why everyone was telling me they were sorry for my loss.  What loss?  I knew where Grandpa went. Grandpa was in heaven, and it was a wonderful place.  I had no idea how permanent his departure would be.

file55cbcf7de7e48[1]

I have had several parakeets as pets.  I read a story about a talking parakeet when I was in first or second grade and pretended to have a parakeet that would fly to school with me.

Parakeets have the ability to repeat the most words of any other bird.  My first bird, on the morning of my wedding, had my little cousin in tears when he said, “Hello.”  Followed by. “Get out of here you dumb kid,”  which I said to my younger brother enough for the bird to learn.

When my third parakeet got killed by our cat, we got a parrot, Max.  Max could purr and bark, and take care of himself.

file55cbcbf357f67[1]

I love snow. I loved making snowmen so big that my Dad had to lift the sections into place.  Living in Cleveland, there was plenty of snow for forts, and snowball fights, and sledding.  My dog Buster loved the snow, and once a three foot snow fall completely covered him without a trace until he jumped up again.  While I love the snow, I hate the cold.  Being snowed in with the family once in a while is perfect.  The rest of the time, I would like it warm.

Well, my layout is a little weird, and if you have any ideas for improvement, I welcome them.  It is Wednesday evening, but I met the goal I set for myself.  Now that I have done this a few times in a row, I think I will remember how.

All pictures used came from Morgue File.

10 thoughts on “Wonderful Wednesday

Add yours

  1. Better than I could have done. These wordpress layouts are very temperamental. Once there were a bunch of parakeets in the trees when my husband was taking my kids to school. Supposedly hundreds in all the trees on one of the blocks there. Quite a sight apparently. They must have been migrating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Meghan Tregellis, Author

"We write to taste life twice." ~ Anais Nin

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

Journal on the soul of the world • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

