Hidden Talents

I have admonished you before: Don’t Hide Your Light.  You do not need to go back and read that posting before you read this. Today’s topic is a bit different.  The fact is, many people may not realize nor value their own talents.

I’ll use myself a typical example.

I’ve been told by others how wonderfully artistic I am.  My first memory of appreciation by others of my artistic talent came from Mom and Dad who kept my kindergarten art throughout their lives.  I agree, there were very nice finger paintings and in second grade a very colorful nice piece with of a chain of abstract flowers included in my childhood portfolio. I did have a seventh grade teacher steal (fail to return to me) my model of a Spanish house with a courtyard.  At about 19 I drew a portrait of the minister during his sermon, and left it in the hymnal.  When the Minister said he wished he knew who that person was because they had a real talent, I just kept quiet.   I taught myself to crochet and have given of that talent to everyone I know.  My sewing gifts have dressed several members of my family, including a couple of brides, and now enfold my grandchildren with my love.  I am also a fairly good cook, and I loved baking.  My friends call me Martha Stewart!

I call myself a generalist, someone who likes many things and toys with everything, but the idea of making it a career, as Martha Stewart has done, never occurred to me, and how to make a career of my artistic bent was entirely beyond my knowledge.  Also, support of my creative endeavors was not consistent.  My family certainly never thought of my creativity as a career path.  Some of my family members suggested my creatives gifts were simply a way of avoiding spending money on a “nice” gift.

When it came to deciding what creative pursuit I would focus on, I decided on my writing.  My earliest compliment on my writing came from my third grade teacher, for a story entitled “April, May, and June,” three young witches who landed on the roof of a young girl.  In sixth grade I had created a pen name, A.E. Hutton.  (Funny my last name is now Sutton.)  As I declared my goals  to study writing to my family, they thought I was being foolhardy, and were just happy I had a husband to take care of me.

I’ve always loved old houses, and Hubby and I have saved many a house from neglect and disrepair. I’ve always wanted to know an architect, and it wasn’t until I was 61 that I realized that might be the career I was really meant for, but how would I really know?

My lack of a best seller, journalism awards, and trending blogs has some saying I am a failure. I’ve used my skills to give to many organizations, and get things done.   I look at all the ways I have used my creative talents to make a home and share with others, and frankly, to live a life of creative and personal freedom that others envy, and I don’t feel like a failure.  Things could have been different, possibly, but I still don’t know what path would have led to financial reward and personal fame that some equate with success.

What would be worse is to be one of the many people who don’t even recognize they have talent.

6 thoughts on “Hidden Talents

Add yours

    1. In an ideal world you would be correct. In reality, children are often pressured to not only make something of themselves, but to constantly seek the ideal of perfection. And even when the pushing doesn’t come from our parents it is all around us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Traveller

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

An ongoing collection of blogs and updates to flex your reading muscles.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

