Facing WAR

A post by JF on Vasili Arkhipov, a Russian who prevented the crossing of the brink to war during the Cuban Missile Crisis got me thinking about those days, I as a 10-year-old girl in 1962, faced the idea of war.

I was not afraid.  Drills in school to go into the hall and curl up against the wall with my hands clasped protectively over my neck had trained me in what to do during a nuclear attack.  Duck and Cover was the rule. Duck under a desk, a table, a tablecloth.  (Really!  The cloth would reflect and prevent absorption of radiation.)  Knowing all of this I was ready to act.

I watched the pile of canned goods and not perishables build up in the corner of the basement, and what I now know as Bug-Out Bags were readied.  Others were building bomb shelters and my Dad, who had actually seen nuclear tests done during his time Army, would laugh at them.  Dad expressed the opinion that because we lived so close to Cleveland Hopkins International Airport, the airport would be targeted and we wouldn’t have time to be afraid, and would never know a thing. True or not, I somehow found comfort in the idea that I would feel no fear or pain.

I clearly remember the Doomsday Clock on the news that told us how many minutes we were away from nuclear war.  As the Cuban Missile Crisis went on, I remember the clock counting down going to one minute.  I remember the seriousness of my parents, and the unusual quietness of our home as my parents kept the little ones still and we all sat watching the news.  Unknown to me, my parents were trying to decide if it was time to go to Grandma’s in Oklahoma, the designated meeting spot for the entire family.

There was much posturing and bluster, which included nuclear testing, and demands issued from both sides.  Behind the closed doors of government on both sides there were people eager to go to war.  Thank God the cooler heads prevailed.

4 thoughts on “Facing WAR

Add yours

  1. In the USSR everyone believed that humanity was saved by the firm (but not provocative) position of the American government. When J.F. Kennedy was assassinated people in Moscow were crying! We loved him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Traveller

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

An ongoing collection of blogs and updates to flex your reading muscles.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

