Trouble Sleeping

There are many reasons we might have trouble sleeping, and the consequences of our sleep problems can become serious if not corrected.

In the early days of marriage, we lived in an apartment that kept us a toasty 85 degrees or warmer.  On a snowy day like today that seems like a heavenly problem to have.  When it comes to sleeping in such a warm temperature it is not a good thing.  After months of enjoying my tropical temperatures, but lack of truly restful sleep began causing serious problems.

The problem was falling asleep everywhere.  I would sit down before work, and doze off until someone told me I better wake up and get moving.  If I leaned against a wall, I was asleep.  Sitting down for a meeting, I was asleep.  I even fell asleep driving, veering off the road to the right, bouncing over the curb, tree lawn, and sidewalk, and waking in time to drive between a car parked in a driveway and a phone poll and back to the road merging into the lane of traffic between two cars that were going at speed.

My doctor said all this sleeping was the result of sleeping in a room that was just to warm.  I requested the apartment manager fix the heating problem.  Sleeping in a cooler room corrected my sleep problem, and my employer was again happy to see me stay awake, and driving became less harrowing.

Most other sleep problems have been minor inconveniences:  uncomfortable night-clothes, Hubby snoring, a puzzling problem, too much light coming in the window, noisy, or an uncomfortable bed. All of these things can interfere with sleep, and need to be remedied before serious problems occur.

Now I have a new sleep problem.  My very spoiled cat, Shadow.  Shadow has grown to a whopping 6 pounds 7 ounces, and can stretch out to occupy a third of a queen size bed.  She wants to sleep right at my side.  It is nice have that purring little bundle of warmth tucked against the small of my back, or against my belly, until she comes under the covers and tickles me awake with her whiskers.

Sometimes Shadow wants to sleep right between my legs, which prevents me from moving.  Other times Shadow isn’t as sleepy as the rest of the family, and my feet become a plaything.  Awaking to claws and teeth digging into your foot is no fun.  I expect Shadow will learn the acceptable limits in time, just as big brother Blue has.

Sleeping with pets can have other problems, for not only sleep but beauty as this video explains. Our pooches are in crates in the bedroom, and sometimes they snore and now that Penny is getting older she wakes up at night and demands to go out.

If you are thinking about getting a pet, you might want them to sleep in another room.  It is to late for me.  Save yourself.

5 thoughts on “Trouble Sleeping

Add yours

      1. I had a Blue Front years ago. This is a Red Lorried Amazon. Pretty much the same bird, different colored head. His name is Einstein and he can be loud but usually isn’t.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Meghan Tregellis, Author

"We write to taste life twice." ~ Anais Nin

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

Journal on the soul of the world • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

The thin line between your and you're

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

