If Your Name Shortened is Bad

There are websites devoted to bad shortened names, where people publicize to the unsuspecting future parents the unfortunate shortening of a name that can lead to teasing.  This teasing is so distressing that normal children will withdraw to the point that their social development is compromised.

Many names, if shortened, are acceptable, sometimes even preferred.  Michael becomes Mike, Kristy becomes Kris, Allison becomes Ally, James becomes Jim, and no-one is really bothered.  But some otherwise delightful names, when shortened become a source of torture and pain.

April is a very nice name, but no-one ever shortened my name to A nor to Pril.   April, when shortened, becomes unpleasant enough that I wanted to legally name in the third grade, but my parents refused to consider any change.  The idea that I could have changed to using my middle name never occurred to me, and was never suggested.  I was stuck without options.

Not only other children shortened my name, but sometimes teachers, employers, other relatives. Nobody who loved or respected me ever shortened my name.  I did have a nickname in middle school, Peanut, and I like that just fine.  As I got older I learned how to stop most people from shortening my name.  If you call me anything other than my given name, I just don’t answer, because how would I know you are talking to me.  Some people for insist I am being over-sensitive.  One cousin who insisted upon shortening my name, after the third time and fair warning, got a very small amount of  Diet-Cola poured into her freshly styled hair.

I admit pouring cola on someone’s head is not a mature reaction.  It would have been better to say my goodbyes, which ultimately and irrevocably has occurred.  Saying our goodbyes is the best decision to make when someone refuses to use the name you prefer.  If James prefers to be called James, to insist on calling him Jim is disrespectful.

Our name is part of our identity and  we have the right to be called what we want.  We have the right to demand that respect from everyone.  Those who refuse to give us that respect deserve to be left in the dust..

8 thoughts on “If Your Name Shortened is Bad

Add yours

  1. I must lack imagination because I can’t begin to think how you would shorten April. No, don’t tell me; I just wanted to put that out there. Imagine if you will growing up with the last name Waters. I’ll give you a moment. Yeah, sucked big time. However, it did make me a little more aware when I named my daughters. My middle girl was going to be Bethany Ann – nice enough. But when you added in our last name her monogram would have been BAG. So not happening!

    Like

  2. Oh, I could go on and on about names…like my sister Victoria who doesn’t want to be called Vicky but Tori, my daughter Anjelica who I don’t like being called Angie (Anjie) or the fact that my sister and I are twins are were constantly called by each other’s names or just ‘Twin’ until we were married women, or my husband who hated his name, George, and now insists on being called Ides…quite the run on sentence!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So am I to assume that your name was shortened to “Ape?” Hope not, but I would figure. Many people (including a former boss) called me “Terr” (like tear paper). As an athlete, I suppose I could live with Terr and be flattered that the big boss called me that. Another boss called me “Terrific” and in high school, a teacher called me “Terrible Terrence.” I’m sure this is why NO ONE names their kids Terri or Terry anymore 🙂 And I’m glad you didn’t go with “ASS!” LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Traveller

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

An ongoing collection of blogs and updates to flex your reading muscles.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

