On a Cold Day

A winter preview, with cold temperatures, and cloudy skies causes me to dress in layered sweaters, with only my head and hands exposed to the elements of my central heated home which seems cold even though the thermometer assures me the air is an acceptable temperature. It is the kind of day to snuggle under a blanket with my little hand and foot warmers, the dog and cat, to watch a movie, although doing some actual physical activity might be healthier. Preparing our home for an influx of relatives would be warming, and reduce our stress levels by shortening the list of chores required closer to the arrival of relatives boosting our normal residency level from two to a possible fifteen people.

I am strangely undisturbed. I have not watched television, so no political disagreements have disturbed my day. On Facebook I listened to a video of someone singing “How Great Thou Art” while watching video of a crowd cheering at a sporting event, and thought “That really is great!” I went through my WordPress Reader and checked out the most popular blogs and I learned I will never be the most popular blog, because I use to many words, requiring too much reading.

Like Popeye says, “I am what I am, and that’s all that I am.” I can only be me. I have tried, Lord God I’ve tried, and I just be more outgoing, cheerful, impulsive, and funny, rather than introspective, contemplative, careful, and serious. I just will never be the life of the party, flitting from person to person. You and I will be in a corner having a quiet conversation. Most of the people at the party will not even remember me, but you will, and over time we will become the best of friends.

Here are some of the things you would learn about me: I love old building, and architecture in general is fascinating. I like animals, especially the long-haired fluffy ones that need brushing and grooming, and leave a mess of hair all over the house that is difficult to pick up.
I experienced crippling shyness, but got myself over that. I tend to fight for things I believe in, rather than walk away to maintain peace. I am very family centered. I dream in color (and wish I could remember why I was dreaming about hangers last night). I am artistically inclined and crafty, and have dabbled in painting, sewing, and other domestic arts.

You might think I am a nice person, and I once was very nice, and then life happened, and I’m not as concerned with being nice, but just being me.
Cold hands, warm heart the saying goes, and for much of the next six months, my heart will be the only warm thing about me. For months, I will only dream of riding my motor cycle on a warm summer day under a cloudless sky.

8 thoughts on “On a Cold Day

Add yours

  1. Just lovely. I write too much as well- but the art of writing often includes detailed explaining (take that, Haiku!). Most things that are well written in my opinion include lengthy sentences and paragraphs which are the equivalent to the lengthy brushstrokes an artist uses on a painting.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It isn’t important in my mind to be popular. I refuse to publicize my blog because it’s mostly for me. I got extremely lucky while doing Blogging 101 in that a bunch of folks found my little corner of the blogoshere. Now I get to make them smile and sometimes laugh. But i don’t consider my little blog popular. It is merely a gateway to meet other people out there that I probably never would have without it. I like your verbosity- that’s the correct word isn’t it? Your posts make me smile and think.

    Like

  3. April, I love your descriptions and feel privileged to learn more about you through your writings. You truly have a gift for clearly expressing your thoughts and feelings in a very meaningful way. (Do you REALLY ride a motorcycle !!????)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Traveller

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

An ongoing collection of blogs and updates to flex your reading muscles.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

