Remembering Dr. Juergen L. Schapiro

I am now the oldest living member of my family with the death of my uncle Jürgen L. Schapiro MD.

My uncle was born on Tuesday, April 29, 1924 and died Sunday, November 9, 2014 at the age of 90. Dr. Schapiro practiced radiology and served as head of radiology at Fairview General Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio until his retirement. He maintained residences in Lakewood, Ohio and Fr. Lauderdale, Florida where he died at the age of 90 after an illness.

Uncle Jürgen was preceded in death by his life partner, John Christian, his brother Rolf Schapiro and wife Delorus and their son Douglas Schapiro, his brother Bernhard J. Schapiro and wife Ardelia Dismukes (my parents) and their daughter Karen Elaine Schapiro, and his parents Clara and Luzier Schapiro. The Schapiro family immigrated to the United States from Germany after World War II, and prospered.

Jürgen did not care for the title of uncle, but I feel honored to have had him for an uncle. He shared much with us, and used his knowledge and connections as a medical professional to get his family the very best medical care available. My favorite place in the world was his beach house on the shores of Lake Erie, where we housed our boat and I learned to sail. The beach house was a place where the entire clan would gather for picnics, swimming, sailing, and relaxing. His partner, John, was our piano teacher. They were both generous with us, their nieces and nephews.

Jürgen was an artist. I have a large painting of my Uncle Jürgen’s hanging in my living room. When it got damaged on one of my many moves, I fought with the moving company to get the irreplaceable painting repaired in a professional way. I called art museums and asked for the names of restorers and the proper way to repair the painting. While the restorer had the painting, he appraised the painting. The restorer found two painting by my uncle sold at auction in Germany for $12,000 and $14,000. My uncle had never sold any painting, nor given any away to anyone outside the family. Only two paintings were out in the world, stolen from the lobby of the apartment complex where he lived. The thief attempted to ransom the two paintings back to my uncle, who took it as a compliment and said, “Enjoy your new paintings.”

Because American’s don’t really understand how an umlaut influences pronunciation of his name, he added the letter “e” to spell his name Juergen. Questions about his relation to hand lotion would annoy him. I do not know if the addition solved the problem.

Jürgen would be pleased that another little Schapiro boy is due in December and the family name is continuing. That is another great-great-nephew, added to my six grandchildren which includes two boys to carry the Schapiro name. The family is growing, and I know that would make him happy.

You are loved. Rest in Peace.

10 thoughts on “Remembering Dr. Juergen L. Schapiro

Add yours

  1. Wow, he sounds like quite a guy and what an honor to have known and been related to such a man. I’m sorry for your loss but congratulations on the circle of life continuing with another little one to carry on the spirit.

    Like

    1. loved your post on your uncle Juergen who was very very close to me. have a lot of good things to tell you privately.
      pls get in touch. again thank you for your kind words, and yes he would be happy to know about the latest Schapiro little boy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hi April,
        thank you for your prompt response, what info would you like? the computer is NOT my best friend…am I dating myself?
        best regards

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

