Defining Myself

Okay, so who am I? Everyone wants to know. People are constantly asking me to define myself. What is my style, goal, aim, or intention? If the direct approach doesn’t receive the clear and concise answers they are looking for, then the questions change slightly. Who do I want to appeal to? Who is my audience? Why will they read me? What will they like about me? Well, they ask me, what am I trying to say?

These are all valid questions. The problem is “I don’t know,” is not a very satisfying answer. I write to answer to the question “who am I,” so I can define myself, and discover my style, goals, aims and intentions. I would like to be friends with people around the world, because I believe that all people have the same hopes and dreams of a good and peaceful life with loved ones living in safety with respect from others.

I have spent a week trying out themes. It is like trying out new dresses for my blog. I must have tried out nearly every free theme offered by our host and even a few that were not free, but to pay money for a theme is a level of self-definition I have not yet attained. I tried everything from a one that appeared as a chalkboard, and one with little childish zoo animals marching across the top, to a very stark black and white layout of various combinations. I did not feel either extreme, juvenile nor strict, set the correct tone for my blog.

I kept going back to three. There was the slick three column layout that reminded me of my days as a newspaper correspondent, which gave me a nice warm nostalgic feeling for days gone by. Nostalgia aside, I decided I really like each posting to have center stage for its moment. Next there was a surprisingly colorful two column layout that set off each posting with a diamond and frame. This theme had an artistic feel to it that I really liked, and the widgets all nicely accessible, but my blog name shrunk away to a little bitty thing. Am I vain, just because I want my blog name as a banner across the top. Maybe. I can live with that. So I have decided to keep the layout I have now and not change. I have had this layout for a short time and don’t think I even use it to its full advantage. Is it perfect? No.

By keeping my current layout I do keep the banner header that emphasis my blog name and adds a little artistic touch. This layout is easy to read and features each post clearly. I don’t like that the follow button is way at the bottom, but many blogs have that, and maybe more technically experienced people don’t find this a problem at all.

So why will you read me? I hope you read, because of my insight, humor, honesty, and openness to learn from others. If you are reading for my highly polished and professional looking blog, then the credit goes to WordPress who made me what I am today.

4 thoughts on “Defining Myself

Add yours

  1. I could relate to so many of the issues you touched on, April; self-definition comes up more at WordPress than it does in my normal life, for sure. “Free” remains the most important consideration for me, where themes are concerned. I like the look of your blog 🙂

    Like

  2. Good luck with trying on the new ‘dresses’! Your blog theme is highly personal and I think you will know which one is ultimately right for you today. The cool thing is that you can always revamp your brand and your look as things change in your life. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, COUNTRY LIVING, ANIMALS AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

The Ethical Traveller

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

On the Soul of the World • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boringbug

An ongoing collection of blogs and updates to flex your reading muscles.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

