An Amazing Thing Happened

Every once in a while it is good to unplug, separated from your phone, television, computer, electronic games, social media, etc. This is what I did for a full week. It was not some noble social experiment, nor active choice on my part. Becoming unplugged was the result of two things that came together. The first think was arthroscopic knee surgery and the accompanying anesthesia and pain pills.

The first 24 hours, the anesthesia was working its way out of my system and after sleeping all day, I slept all night. For the next few days I regularly took my pain medicine. I slept much of the time, with my leg elevated and iced. I got up only to take medicine and read a few blogs between doses, renew my icepack and take care of a few other things that only I could do. The rest of the time I slept. I did attempt to write one blog, but something just didn’t seem right. Thank goodness I did not publish.

The second contributor was a previously scheduled camping weekend in our new travel trailer. A rainy weekend bonding with our new travel trailer seemed like the perfect way to recover from surgery, since hiking is pretty much considered a dry weather activity. You may love tramping about in the rain, not me, unless it is a warm summer day, as opposed to a cold fall day. Either way, I am not a fan of mud. We decided where to put things in our RV so they would be secure, tested out the systems, rented some movies, and stayed dry and comfortable. There was no phone service, no Wi-Fi so no computer and no download to my I-pad. We were isolated from the outside world.

As time went on I realized my dreams were becoming very intense. I actually had dreams with three-dimensional effects, and spent much time in that place between awake and asleep, where dream and reality mixed. At one point I was sure we where on our sailboat from years ago. I think being unplugged caused these intense dreams. When blocked or frustrated I will limit my media usage and my dreams and creativity go wild.

Now it has been just over a week, and I’m off the pain medications and eager to get back to my blog. While I was gone an amazing things happened. I now have 52 readers. I thank you for following me, and hope I continue to prove myself worthy. I value our relationship.

9 thoughts on “An Amazing Thing Happened

Add yours

  1. Welcome back April! I hope you’re on the road to recovery! I’ve had that knee surgery and my only advice is DO NOT NEGLECT PHYSICAL THERAPY! I speak from experience; you’ll feel better and be stronger. So glad you’ve returned!

    Like

  2. Welcome back April! Hope you are feeling much better! Dreams feel so real don’t they? Sometimes I wake up with all the intense feelings still clinging on from the dream. And I get mad at my hubby…lol!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Life of an El Paso Woman

EL PASO, TEXAS PEOPLE & PLACES, MUSIC, MOVIES, LIFE, HISPANIC CULTURE, WOMEN'S ISSUES, ETC.

Darryl Callahan Media

The Canadian Bearded Blogger & Broadcaster. Bringing All Media Content To One Pace.

Elena Peters

midlife blogger & pinterest master

WELCOME TO CRYSTAL'S SITE(ORIGINALLY COUNTRY LIVING)

FAMILY, ANIMALS, COUNTRY LIVING AND MORE

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

Phenderson Djèlí Clark

The Musings of a Disgruntled Haradrim . . .

Sidnee Shares

Find your own happiness & stay there

Ravi'S Blog

Java Fever

scauthor

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Sometimes Stellar Storyteller

Writing by numbers, outside of the lines

lifelessons - a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown

Reflections on Life through poetry, essays and photos

The Leafy Paw

Journal on the soul of the world • Amber MV

From Sand to Gemstones

Refining Life's Ragged Edges

helen meikle's scribblefest

writer editor proofreader

Lost Property Repository

The Repository of the lost and wordless

Windblownwords

A blog about living and writing.

April's Perspective

looking at news and our lives

The Gad About Town

All posts copyright 2013–2017 by Mark Aldrich.

The Blog Propellant

Prompts to give your writing a little propulsion

artifiswords

This is where I use my words...and share with you

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Hot White Snow

A site for my creative writing endeavors, writing prompt responses, and experimentation.

DESIGNWITHFLAIR

creativity inspired by the spontaneity of scribble

